Interview with Kylie Jacobs

Hello ladies! (and guys. 🙂 )

Recently I have had the Chance to interview Kylie Jacobs of Christ Centered Girls! Kylie runs a magazine and blog; you can find the links to both at the bottom of this post. 😀

Right, let’s get started!


What’s your name? Tell us a bit about yourself!

Haha well, my name is Kylie Jacobs. I am a blond haired blue eyed Jesus freak from California. I love music and sports, sugar and my favorite animal is a horse! I have them all over my room. I am a foster kid and I am not ashamed to admit it! I write music and articles in my spare time I started a magazine for Christian teen girls, and have dreams of one day inspiring people in Hollywood to live their lives for the Lord and reaching people on a bigger level! Oh ya and I’m 16.

What inspired you to start CCG?

That is a really good question 🙂 when I was thirteen years old I started to get really into magazines and pop culture. As I started reading more and more magazines issues such as J-14 and Seventeen I began to realize that the advice they were giving wasn’t uplifting AT ALL. They would tell me what styles were IN and how to kiss the RIGHT way, but really I began to notice that what I was reading started to change me as a person. So one day I decided to google Christian magazines or sites that would actually uplift me. Sadly I didn’t find many but was lucky to stumble upon this one site that was filled with GREAT Christian advice but talked about things a thirteen year old girl would still be into.

As I read more and more articles and magazine issues I could feel God telling me to pursue this. God was telling me to start my own online magazine just like this one I had discovered. So I contacted the owner of the magazine and asked her how she did it and what I needed to do to start my own. She was very helpful and encouraging! I remember her being one of the only people who actually believed that I could do it. I told people what my dream was, but imagine a thirteen year old coming up to you and saying “I’m going to start an online magazine for teen girls!” You probably wouldn’t believe her either. I literally contacted every magazine, blog, and Christian site I could find asking them to give me some pointers and advice. I did that for three whole years. Finally with lots of prayer I started my magazine at age 16.

What is your favorite Bible verse?

1 Timothy 4:12. Although I swear it changes every month, it says “Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.”

I love this verse because God has put it on my heart to share with others that it doesn’t matter how old you are YOU can still make a difference. This is actually Christ Centered Girls Go-to verse and you will see it at the top of our site 🙂 something I always like to tell people when they look down on me for being so young to start a magazine is “Because I am young, I have the most impact.” Because it’s true! How many young people do you see trying to pursue a relationship with the Lord? Or trying to make a difference? Probably not many. So when people see that they become inspired.

Has writing on your blog impacted how you think about yourself and others?

Writing is one of my passions for sure! I get so many emails and messages from girls all over the world saying how my articles have inspired them! 🙂 So I guess in a way It has changed the way I look at myself and others. I used to think that nobody would want to read what I had to say, but I knew that God wanted me to write and he wanted me to write for him. So I had to push away my fear. I remember the first time someone had praised me for my work, It was a girl all the way in Nigeria! She had said that she was too afraid to start an outreach team in her community but apparently I had inspired her to be brave and do it anyway. Now she goes out weekly with her church and shines Gods light to his people. It made me realize that God was using me to help others through my site and my writings. I wouldn’t even have this gift if it wasn’t for him, he speaks through me.

If you had the entire world’s attention for one minute, what would you say?

Hmm…that’s an interesting question I don’t get asked often! Well I know if I had the entire world’s attention I would probably be freaking out because I don’t really like to be the center of attention! But I would also use it as a time to let God speak through me to them. I would probably tell them to not be afraid, I would tell them that there is something greater out there if they just let go and accept it. I would want them to know that they are loved no matter the trials they are facing and the pain they are going through. I would tell them that God has a plan for each and every single one of them and that it doesn’t matter who they are or what they have done God can and will use them to change this world. So basically If the whole world is listening right now I would want you to know that Jesus Christ Is a real guy who loves them unconditionally! There is so much I would want to say though!

 

Has being a Christian been easy for the most part, or do you struggle on a daily basis to keep your faith? If so, what helps you keep your faith?

Being a Christina easy!?! Haha I have never heard of that! Being a Christian is hard, especially since I am in ministry and the entertainment world. I have so many people coming up to me trying to persecute me. My entire life I had been looked down upon for my faith. But you see that what happens when you decide to follow a man who is an outcast. God never promised it would be easy, actually he was completely honest with us and said it would be hard. But even though I have had to give up so much for God I wouldn’t EVER take that back. Because I gained so much more than I ever had without him. The world tries to tell us there is something better out there, when really it’s a trap and I have everything I need right here with God. Something that always helps me when I am doubting my faith though is this.

Jesus was a man. A human being, he never lied to us, never tricked us, and only loved us unconditionally. Yet we beat him, and spit on him, and screamed harsh words at him. But that didn’t stop him. He still continued to share Gods words and love to the world. If anybody knows how you feel it’s Jesus, and he can show you how to fight the right way. That’s the secret you see, is fighting with Jesus not against him. So next time you are doubting your faith, remember that Jesus suffered more than you did, and because he didn’t give up he changed the whole course of humanity.

Do you have anything else to say to STL readers?

Yes! Oh I have lots to say to you guys! But I will keep it short. I want you to know that God has a plan for you, no matter what your age, race, or gender is. God can and WILL use you if you let him. He has given us each our own gifts to use for him. Maybe you like to write, so start a blog, maybe you like to sing, so sing his praises, maybe you like to cook, so cook meals for the homeless. You all have things about you that make you YOU. So don’t take those for granted.

You are POWERFUL. You are capable of changing this world for the better, so take advantage of that. Listen to whatever God tells you to do and don’t listen to what other people say. Because it doesn’t matter what they think. The world is going to try to tell you who you are, but don’t listen, because you are God daughter/son and there is nothing that can change that. BE YOU. It’s the best thing you can be, and don’t worry about this world, because you do not belong here. (John 15:19 If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you.

Lastly I want you all to know that I love you all and I want to hear from you! So you can either email me here; christcenteredteengirls@gmail.com

Or message me on any of the social media sites!

Christ Centered Girls Magazine: www.christcenteredgirls.wordpress.com
Facebook: @ChrsitCenteredGirls
Twitter: @CenteredGirls
Instagram: Christ_Centered_Girls

LOVE YOU ALL!! XOXOXOX

-Kylie Jacobs

Twitter: @Itsjacobskylie1

Instagram: @Itsjacobskylie

Facebook: Kylie Jacobs

2016-01-22-13-53-49-07111

Christ Centered Girls is a magazine that focuses on sharing Christ’s love and rising up young women in his word. It started with a dream that became a reality with lots of prayer, faith, and hard work. Kylie is the founder of Christ Centered Girls. When she was 13 God put the desire to start her own magazine in her heart. Three years later It became a reality and at 16 she had successfully had her fairy tale ending of just ONE dream. But anyone who knows her knows that there will be many more to come, and many more challenges to face. Kylie’s passion has always been for the youth and troubled teens. Helping people has always been her weakness and one of her passions. In this magazine and site you will find articles written by her and her fellow writers with a mission to inspire and touch the young women who read them..so welcome to Christ Centered Girls!

https://christcenteredgirls.wordpress.com
https://christcenteredgirls.wordpress.com/magazine/

*taken from the CCG blog*


Thank you so much, Kylie! Go visit her blog! She is a genuinely amazing young woman who has inspired me so much.

And thank you for reading! You all mean the world to me!

~Jenna~

p.s. Yes, I did change the spelling of my name. 🙂 I thought it looked better, and I like it more.

5 thoughts on “Interview with Kylie Jacobs

    1. Thank you Kellyn! I am so happy I got to do this as well! If you guys ever need anything just message me and make sure to stay connected to CCG! Lots of great things coming up!

      Like

Leave a comment