Tending the Orchard

I’ve always been a dreamer.  I can remember hours upon hours of time spent daydreaming of what my life could have been like and how it will be.  But I’ve learned quite a bit since that time.  I’ve learned that all of life isn’t a fairy tale in a happily ever after sense.  Often times it hurts, and other times life feels more perfect than any story could portray.  Even though I may not daydream as much or about the same things as before, I’m still a dreamer.  I have so many hopes for the future, of things I want to accomplish and things I want to do.  But like I said, I’ve always been a dreamer…and rarely a doer.  I’ve started projects, I’ve had great ideas, I’ve had multiple opportunities, but have I finished them?  Have I gone through with them?  Have I taken and gone for them with everything that’s in me?  No.  I’m going to be honest, y’all.  This is one of my countless struggles, and possibly the one I’m most ashamed of.  But I know I can’t live life like this, and I know that it’s not the way that the Lord wants me to live.  My life isn’t my own.  It’s never been.  Every moment and every breath I breathe belongs to Him alone.  I have the responsibility to live the life of a doer who diligently pursues the calling of God on her life.  Which brought me to this thought last night…

When God created us, He gave us each special gifts, abilities, and purposes for the time we’re here on earth in order that we might glorify Him.  I like to think of these things as seeds.  I imagine that God has given me a piece of land which represents my life, and it’s my responsibility to plant those sends, to tend them, and to nurture them.  One of my seeds is compassion.  It’s my responsibility to show love and grace and to not only have compassion for those who appear to need it the most, but to be selfless in my deeds towards those around me in my everyday life.  One of my seeds is music.  It’s my responsibility to practice and put forth the time and effort to use this gift to it’s maximum capability.  One of my seeds may be pursuing a field of ministry.  It’s my responsibility to prepare for it and to seek the Lord’s will and guidance leading up to that time.  My responsibility is to water those seeds and also to pull up the weeds that try to choke them.  The weeds are the devil and my flesh tempting and trying me to stray from what God has for my life.  And if I neglect those seeds, if I don’t invest in them, if I don’t water them and I let weeds take over, they’re never going to grow to one day bear fruit-they’re going to die.  I want my seeds to grow to be an orchard full of fruitful trees.  This journey won’t be easy.  I’m going to face harsh seasons, an endless army of weeds, and I will probably have to do quite a bit of pruning in order to make my trees stronger.  But I don’t want to sit back any more.  It’s time to start tending my orchard.

Can you relate?

thVN2CUP5I

9 thoughts on “Tending the Orchard

  1. I can definitely relate! I’m not good at tending the orchard at all! I’m hoping to become a better orchardess (yes, I did just make up that term, I think) in the future, with God’s help, but it’s so hard!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooooh! I like that term… 😛 AH, you’re telling me-I’ve been thinking about it a ton lately, and at the moment I seriously just feel like throwing my hands in the air! But, like the saying goes, what doesn’t challenge you doesn’t change you. It’s a journey for sure. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

