In a world that becomes more anti-Christian every day, you’re sure to eventually run into some people who tell you that your beliefs are ridiculous.

Although I probably haven’t, I feel like I’ve heard it all.

“What, you don’t want women to have the right to choose what happens to their bodies? You’re so sexist.”

“You can’t say homosexuality is wrong! After all, it’s love, isn’t it?”

“Of course a man can pretend he’s a woman or vice-versa! After all, what they were naturally created to be doesn’t matter so much as what they feel like being.”

“I can’t believe you support {insert candidate here} … {he/she} believes in {insert belief here}.”

“Believing some sky-god created the universe is so stupid.”

“Then your God is racist/sexist/homophobic!”

And that’s only the tip of the iceberg. The world honestly wants to crush Christianity. I’ve seen it time and time again. They pretend they want to support all beliefs … but really they just want to support all the beliefs that don’t contradict their beliefs.

But that’s really not important.

What’s important is your response.

How do you react to the world’s heckling? Do you fly into a rage? Do you engage in venomous debates?

Well, you shouldn’t.

When someone challenges you about your faith …

Be polite.

As Christians, it is our duty to take the higher road.

As Christians, it is our duty to be kind and loving to everyone.

As Christians, it is our duty to represent Christ in a godly fashion.

Be the kind of person who makes other people want to be Christians. Stand firm in your beliefs … but don’t be caustic if they are challenged. Turn the other cheek.

~Kellyn Roth~

Blog | Website| Reviews

12 thoughts on “Being Polite

  1. It is absolutely true that the world wants to crush out Christianity. That is because the world is run by Satan. He has power over the kingdoms of the earth for a time. But thank God the day will come when Jesus Christ will take that power away from him.
    I love this post, thank you so much for sharing. We have to be careful not to get caught up with all the fighting and division. Being polite to those who oppose us is an important part of showing who we are in Christ! ☺💗

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Reveries and commented:

    Instead of doing a post tomorrow, I’m reblogging this article I wrote for Send the Light.

    I know that’s lazy, but I’m on vacation until the 13th, and I simply don’t have time for a full-length blog post. I do have something planned for next Wednesday, though.

    On that note, I won’t be online until Tuesday at the earliest, perhaps even Wednesday. So … try to manage without me, I guess? 😉

    Like

  3. Ooh, lovely post, Kell! Thankfully, so far I think the majority of people that I have talked to have been supportive of my beliefs, even if they don’t agree with them, and that’s really a blessing. It’s so hard to be polite sometimes…especially when we believe/know we are right…but being polite really does pay off–though sometimes I need God’s help to do it.

    I think I’m having a little bit of a harder time with the opposite side…when someone believes differently than you or are participating in something bad, where do you draw the line between loving them and enough being enough? We’re supposed to love everyone, but also stay unspotted by the world…I’ve been pondering that. Any thoughts?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think most of the people who weren’t polite to me came from me being an idiot, but I have run across people who just wanted to debate or to make me feel bad or whatever their motive was. *sigh* And I almost always loose my head, sadly. I really need to work on that.

      Well, I always think about that one Bible verse … “be in the world but not of the world.” I don’t understand it too well, but I guess you essentially need to love the people who have different beliefs with you … but draw the line at participating in anything that goes against your morals or supporting it or anything like that. I do know someone in real life who is leading a bad life, and I eventually had to cut off communication with him because … it just was hurting me too much. However, I continue praying for him, and if he decides to reach out to me, I might talk to him or whatever, though I know I can’t just … accept him and not say anything about what he’s become. (This is mostly because he insists that I have to accept his sins to be with him, which is not something I can do.)

      I don’t understand the balance myself. I don’t know how to be loving and yet not accepting of wrong things. It’s probably situational.

      Like

      • Yes, that’s a good verse! Yes…I’m kind of afraid of having to do that (cut off communications with someone) because of things they’re doing wrong… At the same time, I think I’m too hasty in doing it. That didn’t make sense. Um, what I’m saying is, I don’t like confrontation, so I avoid it by kind of avoiding people who aren’t living the same standards as I am (at least as far as I can tell). Which is probably not as loving as I should be…

        Yep. I guess we can always pray and ask God what we should do in each situation!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, it’s hard … like, my cousin is living in a way that I don’t believe is right (living with a guy when they’re not married), and so it’s … awkward. I haven’t really cut off contact with her … but I still just find it hard to talk to her and such.

        Like

Leave a Reply

