Diligence

Well, guys, one of my biggest problems as a human being is laid bare for the world as I push the blue button on the left labeled ‘published.’ We human beings like to hide our sins, so … this is hard for me.

On the other hand, I’m probably so full of sin that I don’t even realize the half of it!

Anyway, one of the things I find difficult in my life is diligence.

Diligence: careful and persistent work or effort.

I don’t know why, but …

I find it hard to finish things I start.

I find it hard to keep doing good work throughout the school year.

I find it hard to brush my dog every single week.

I find it hard to exercise often.

I’ll start out excited about something … and then my enthusiasm will fade away.

What does the Bible say about this? Well, there are many, many Bible verses about diligence, actually.

A few of my favorites include:

The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied. ~Proverbs 13:4

And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. ~Galatians 6:9

Therefore, brothers, be all the more diligent to make your calling and election sure, for if you practice these qualities you will never fall. ~2 Peter 1:10

So it’s clear that God values diligence, that He wants us, His children, to persevere in all things good (and yes, that does include cleaning out your cat’s litter box every single day!).

But what can we do about our own laziness?

Here are a few things that help me.

  1. Hold yourself accountable to your friends. Tell your friends that you are probably gonna be grounded and won’t be able to see them anymore if the lawn doesn’t get mowed weekly. Ask them to remind you if it seems like you’re forgetting.
  2. Hold yourself accountable to God. I know this may sound silly, but I sometimes wake up in the morning and say, “God, please strike me down with a lightning bolt if I don’t clean out the fish’s bowl today.” And the thing is, I’m only partially kidding … Seriously, though, folks. Tell God that you need help completing a task today! He always hears you, and He always helps.
  3. Checklists! What? I like making lists …
  4. Just getting in the habit. After a couple weeks of getting it down, you can’t sleep unless you’ve done something! I’m not even kidding. One of my problems a while back (like, a couple months ago!) was reading the Bible. I’d have trouble remembering to do it. Then I promised myself to read it every night without fail, and after forcing myself the first week or two, I can’t sleep until I read a bit, even if it’s only a verse or two.

Thanks for reading!

~Kellyn Roth

13 thoughts on “Diligence

  1. Agh. I have a problem with this, too, Kellyn. I’m supposed to be eating healthy and I keep tripping. I’m supposed to be working out and I haven’t at all this week. I’m supposed to stay on top of my chores and I’m always slacking. I needed this so badly right now. Thank you for sharing โค
    ~Jaclynn~

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re quite right! I should work on diligence, also. I’m so glad you’re reading the Bible daily now! A few years ago, I didn’t read the whole Bible in a year; I quit half-way or whenever. But now, it’s definitely part of my morning routine! ๐Ÿ™‚

    CutePolarBear

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Well, it is hard. And yes, it doesn’t really matter if you read the whole Bible in a year. I’m just saying that it was hard to keep reading my Bible every day for a WHOLE year. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        CutePolarBear

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m terrible when it comes to diligence…*hides under a table*
    I think these tips will really come in handy!! Wonderful post, Kell! ๐Ÿ˜€
    And btw, that’s awesome that you’ve gotten into the routine of reading your Bible every day!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Trusting Him

Leave a Reply

